The Governing Body are volunteers who commit to working alongside the College Leadership Team and is responsible for a wide range of matters including ensuring that students at The City of Leicester College receive a high quality education.  It is also responsible for the future development and improvement of the college.

The Governing Body of The City of Leicester College consists of:

  • 2 Parent Governors
  • 1 Authority Governor
  • 1 Head Teacher
  • 1 Staff Governor
  • 9 Co-opted Governors

Click to view our Instrument of Government

Chair of Governors: John Andrews

Vice-Chair of Governors: Naresh Chauhan

Clerk to the Governors: Sheila Carr (non-voting)

Any correspondence for the Chair of Governors should be addressed to The City of Leicester College for the Chair’s attention.

Governing body committee structure

The Governing Body has three core committees:


The Full Governing Committee has 5 core strategic functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding the Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its students, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent
  • Agreeing the school improvement strategy with priorities and targets

School Lead Person: Ken Vernon

Chairperson: John Andrews

Members:   Dipak Bhatt, Naresh Chauhan (vice-chair), Korin Grant, Shanaz Ibrahim, Harsha Kotecha, Kam Mistry, Chetan Patel, Kalpana Patel, Neal Ruparelia and Abdul Vhora (2 Vacancies)

2. Leadership & Business Committee

Core Purpose:

The Governors’ Leadership & Business Committee will systematically review the following areas of work of the college:

  • Financial management, planning & monitoring, and budget
  • Pay Policy and staff appraisal
  • Health and safety and use of premises
  • Safeguarding
  • Staffing structure
  • Capability
  • Staff wellbeing
  • Staff CPD
  • Covid–19 Risk Assessment
  • MAT

School Lead Person: Ken Vernon

Chairperson: Neal Ruparelia

Members: Naresh Chauhan, Harsha Kotecha, Kam Mistry (vice-chair) and Abdul Vhora

3. Teaching & Learning Committee

Core Purpose:

The Governors’ Teaching & Learning Committee will systematically review the following areas of work of the college:

  • Intent – ensure curriculum planning meets the statutory requirements as a minimum, and enhances students’ opportunities and experience
  • Implementation – Assess the quality of:
    • Teaching and Learning
    • Assessment and Feedback
    • Strategies for improving outcomes for vulnerable and catch up groups e.g. SEND, Disadvantaged
    • Personal Development – Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education (PSHE) and Religious Education (RE)
    • Careers
    • The use of new technologies
    • Homework and distance learning
    • Student Voice

School Lead Person: Jill Walton

Chairperson: John Andrews

Members: Dipak Bhatt, Naresh Chauhan, Korin Grant, Shanaz Ibrahim, Chetan Patel and Kalpana Patel (vice-chair)


All Governors have an department link to allow them to understand the strategies and interventions that will help our students produce their best outcomes.

Governorcommitteefocus link area
John AndrewsFull
Teaching & Learning
Science & Social Science
Dipak BhattFull
Teaching & Learning
Pupil PremiumSEND & Learning Support
Naresh ChauhanFull
Leadership & Business
Teaching & Learning
Health & Safety
Maths & ICT
Korin Grant Full
Teaching & Learning
Attendance & Behaviour
Curriculum & Careers
English & MFL
Harsha KotechaFull
Leadership & Business
Pupil Premium
English & MFL
Kam MistryFull
Leadership & Business
Health & Safety
ADT & Business
Chetan PatelFull
Teaching & Learning
Kalpana PatelFull
Teaching & Learning
Curriculum & Careers
Science & Social Science
Neal RupareliaFull
Leadership & Business
Attendance & Behaviour
Community / Parents
PE, Expressive Arts, Humanities & PSHE
Abdul VhoraFull
Leadership & Business
SafeguardingSEND & Learning Support



There is a statutory duty for all Governors to declare their business interests and for these to be published on the College’s website.  It is important for anyone involved in spending public money to demonstrate that they do not benefit personally from any decisions they make.

John AndrewsCo-opted Governor
4 Years05.02.22None disclosed
Dipak BhattStaff Governor4 years10.11.24None disclosed
Naresh ChauhanCo-opted Governor

4 Years13.05.22Self-employed Handyman
Korin GrantCo-opted Governor4 Years04.02.23None disclosed
Shanaz IbrahimCo-opted Governor4 Years04.07.25
Harsha KotechaCo-opted Governor
4 Years21.05.21Freelance Trainer & Wellbeing Coach

Chair of Health Watch Leicester/Leicestershire
Kam MistryCo-opted Governor
4 Years25.09.24None disclosed
Chetan PatelParent Governor4 Years13.05.25
Kalpana PatelLocal Authority Governor
4 Years06.09.21Adult Social Care at LCC

Governor at Whitehall School
Neal RupareliaCo-opted Governor4 Years02.12.22None disclosed
Abdul VhoraParent Governor4 Years03.12.23Head of Compliance at BT - Anti-Corruption & Bribery

Ferndale Property Partnership Ltd
Ken VernonHead TeacherN/AN/AHead Teacher (TCOLC)

REGISTER OF Attendance

We have published the Governors’ register of attendance for Academic Year 2020-21 below.

Governors Attendance at Meetings – 2020/21